Donna Day 2015!

It has been over a year since I’ve written a blog post. I pretty much gave up blogging when I realized I don’t love writing. I do love writing today though. It’s the one day that brought me out of blogger hibernation last year, and it’s likely to be the only post I write this year, too. It’s that important to me and to so many others.

Today is Donna Day. 

This girl right here. Her name is Donna. Well, was Donna. Donna died when she was 4 years old. I never met her, but I’ve met her parents and her little brother, and they are some of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met.

This is Donna.

This is Donna.

Donna’s mama writes a blog. It’s called Mary Tyler Mom. In 2011, Mary Tyler Mom published Donna’s story in a series of blog posts. I read it, along with thousands of other people, and I was forever changed.
I had seen information about pediatric cancer before, but it never really seemed real to me. Not until I read this girl’s heartbreaking story did I understand and feel the need to do more.

childhoodcancerfacts

Shortly after Donna’s Cancer story was published, the first Donna’s Good Things St.Baldrick’s Foundation  head shaving event was held in Chicago. I was there, along with many other brave men and women, shaving my head to raise money for pediatric cancer research. I also shaved my head last year, too, along with my amazing, selfless 7-year-old son.

More children die of cancer than they do from any other disease- more than many other childhood diseases combined! Worldwide, another child is diagnosed every 3 minutes.
ALL types of childhood cancer combined receive only 4% of the US federal funds for cancer research! That number is unacceptable. We have to do more, and St. Baldrick’s is one way to do that.

And that’s what we’re doing today, on Donna Day 2015. Donna Day has become an annual day where bloggers from all walks of life write about Donna and St. Baldrick’s to get the word out and start raising the big bucks for the Donna’s Good Things event that’s being held this year on March 28th in Chicago! You can find the info here.

baldrickslogoI could go on and on about stats and such, but I won’t do that this year. I wrote posts the last 3 years, and they were way longer and better than this post will be, but they all said the same thing. We need help to find better treatments for childhood cancers! But we can’t do that without you and your money. I’m not gonna lie, money is vital to this. Without money, the scientists cannot do their best to find new medicines and hopefully one day a cure for childhood cancers. For more stats and info, you can go here.

Please help by donating and spreading the word. Awareness is the first step. Share, share, share!

donnaday2014

Thank you.

~Karin

About kantal113

I am a woman who just wants to share her crazy life with the rest of y’all. I am also a housekeeper, laundrette, babysitter, cook, teacher, caregiver, facilities manager, psychologist, and kisser-of-boo-boos. Better known as a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Donna Day 2015!

  1. Deirdre Cerasa says:

    Happy to see any post from you. Thank you for posting for Donna Day and St. Baldrick’s. They mean the world to our family.

Leave a Reply

