It’s Too Damn Hot

Bloggers note: I wrote this back in July and was trying to find the perfect picture for it, but then I just gave up, because it was taking too long and I’m a quitter. I wanted to post it when it was timely, but every time I’ve revisited it since then it’s felt like spring, which is pretty typical of summer in Michigan. So now, because I am also a procrastinator, I want to post it. More than a month later. Why? Because it was already written and I hate to see it go to waste. I am not wasteful. Oh, and we got a little pool, too. So this post is pretty much null and void, but I like it so I’m gonna post it. Enjoy

It’s hot as balls. I am roasting like a Thanksgiving turkey. Right now, it’s 95 degrees with a heat index of 107 degrees, and we haven’t even reached the hottest part of the day yet. Boo. :(

We’re in Michigan, for shit’s sake. WTF?

I want a pool. It doesn’t have to be a fancy-schmancy one like this

Now, that's what I call a pool.

but it also can’t be one of those plastic kiddie ones with octopii and fish cartoons on them.

Yep. That's the one I'm talking about.

I want something in between, that myself, the gremlins and the Nerd (if he’s feeling brave) could swim in on days like today. I grew up with a pool in my yard, and I spent every day in the Summer swimming until I was pruny and exhausted.

Apparently, shirts and bathing suits were optional...*blush*

My dad built a small deck  for us to jump from and I would pretend I was an Olympic diver and do masterful stunts while diving into that pool. Sometimes, when my parents would allow it, we’d actually climb from the deck onto the garage that it was attached to, and take a flying leap into the pool from the roof.  Today, I question the safety of such an incredibly stupid stunt. Not to mention, my mom and dads’ parenting skills (or lack, thereof), but no one ever got hurt doing it, so I suppose that makes it okay.

Because we had the pool, we’d always have the typical Summer holiday get-togethers at our house (Memorial Day, 4th of July, Gay Uncle David is Home from Saudi Arabia Day). The family would come over and we’d BBQ and swim our asses off, then we’d slather on the baby oil and tan up all nice as crispy like. Always safety first, at the Antal house.

Me and neighbors in the pool

Turtlenecks optional (WTF? Why am I wearing a turtleneck?)

I want our house to be like that. I want our families to want to come here because we have an awesome pool. I don’t care if they’re only using us for our chlorinated little slice of heaven, I just want them here. As long as they bring snacks. And alcohol, of course.
Mama needs Moscato while she’s swimming and sunbathing, folks!

*sigh* A girl can dream, can’t she?

Until we do get that pool, I guess I’m stuck inside on days like this. Otherwise, I might melt into a greasy puddle, kinda like bacon fat; the way it melts off the bacon into an oily, delicious mess, only not as delicious and much more disgusting. Eww. We don’t want that, now do we? Hence the reason for a pool.

I would SO much rather be swimming.

     

"Just keep swimming..."

We should take that advice from the unforgettable Dory: “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim. I love to swim…and when you want to swim you want to swim.”

And I do. (Although, after typing and reading the word “swim” so many times, I think I may have forgotten what it means…Does that ever happen to you?)

Melting away~
Karin

About kantal113

I am a woman who just wants to share her crazy life with the rest of y’all. I am also a housekeeper, laundrette, babysitter, cook, teacher, caregiver, facilities manager, psychologist, and kisser-of-boo-boos. Better known as a mom.
This entry was posted in Family, inspiration, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Too Damn Hot

  1. Jeff Silvey says:

    You used to jump from the roof of the garage? Yikes. ;)

    Yes, this summer has been too hot. And it’s still going on. We’re withering away here in Texas.

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    I love hot!! In Australia here, it’s Spring – yet to be summer. Hope you get a pool.

    • kantal113 says:

      Thanks for reading and replying! I do love hot, too, but here in Michigan in the US, we don’t usually get too hot. We’re in the northeast part of the country, so it gets cold in the winter and not too hot in the summer. Typically. This summer was hotter than usual, it seemed.
      We did get a small, inflatable pool from my parents, but we didn’t get chlorine and a cover for it soon enough, and it got dirty very quickly. I took it down last week. It’s getting chilly here now though, so it’s okay. :)

  3. kantal113 says:

    Gah! I am seriously slacking on my blog! Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Jeff!
    I can’t even imagine living in the Texas heat. I love warm weather, but when it gets above 95, it’s just silly.
    Yep- we’d climb onto the garage and jump into the pool. You can kinda see it in the “bathing suits optional” pic. I’m jumping from the deck, and it’s attached to the side of the garage. We’d put a tiny step-ladder up there and climb up. We somehow knew that it was only safe to do cannonballs from up there. Good thing, too. :)

Leave a Reply

