Dear AT&T: You Suck. Thank You.

Annoyed.
That’s how I’m feeling right now. Really annoyed.
I started this blog in hopes of writing something every few days, and I haven’t really accomplished that for a couple reasons. One is because I can’t seem to find the inspiration most days. (Lame, I know) Everyone says to just sit down and write and the words will come. I just feel like I have to have this great idea in order to write anything. I know this is something I have to get over.

The other reason I’ve not been blogging as often as I like is because we have AT&T DSL. Does anything else need to be said about that? I think not. I believe AT&T DSL speaks for itself. Please, oh please, do yourselves a favor and NEVER bother with at&t. For those of you already sharing in my misery, I am sorry.

My thoughts, exactly. I found this on the interwebs, so I'm guessing I'm not alone with my feelings of general hatred towards this company.

It just seems shady to me that a company as huge as AT&T can offer this service and not have any guarantees on it, and then when something does go wrong, as it most certainly will, their way of “fixing the problem” is trying to get you to upgrade to their U-Verse service, which is monumentally more expensive than the DSL. Obviously.

The U-Verse service provides high-speed internet, digital phone and cable and is around $100 a month. Right now with just phone and DSL, I believe we pay about $60 a month, so that would be $40 for cable. Not bad, if you actually watch TV.

We are not a cable TV kind of family. We don’t watch a lot of TV, and we don’t want to start. When we tell the at&t service reps that we aren’t interested in cable, they seem confused, as if we’re telling them we don’t want to breathe air anymore or drink water to survive. It’s that serious to them. I’ve even been asked, “Well, do you have kids? You’d get lots of family channels like Disney and Nick for the kids to watch.”
Yes, yes thank you. We know this, which is WHY we DON’T want cable.

Kids today watch too much TV and are just way too plugged-in already. Even our kids, whose time watching TV and playing video games is very limited, I think they still get plugged in too often, so NO thanks. I do NOT want to offer them more reasons to plug in and tune out the rest of the world.

I want my kids and family to spend time outside, learning all there is to learn about

What's that smell...? Yep. It's gonna rain very soon.

nature and real life. I want them to know the difference between an oak and a maple leaf. I want them to appreciate the value of gardening and the healing nature of plants. I want them to be aware of an upcoming storm because they can smell it coming. They should know that smell; and they can’t know that smell if they’re never unplugged and outside long enough to even notice it.

I remember as a kid, wanting to spend almost every spare minute outside playing and getting dirty. The rest of my time, I was reading. I’m not going to say I never watched TV, because I did. What kid raised in the 80s didn’t watch TV?
The difference is that I would have rather done anything else before I resorted to plopping myself in front of the TV, except on Saturday mornings. Now that’s a different story! Saturday morning cartoons were not to be missed.

The wee ones playing outside.

I want my kids to have memories of playing outside and having adventures and making friends and getting dirty. I want them to get skinned knees and mosquito bites. I want them to build forts and play ball games. But they can’t do those things if they’re inside watching TV or plugged into a video game.
I’ve lost track here, but not really. My original intention of writing this was to complain about a company offering up shitty internet service and to apologize for not writing as often as I’d like to, because of said company and also because I don’t feel inspired enough to write most days.

But I just did, didn’t I?

I wrote about something important to me. It is inspired or inspiring? Not sure. You be the judges. I know my writing can be a bit tangential, but to be honest, so can I. My writing really does say something about me. And that was another reason I started this blog. I wanted to share myself and my life with the world, no matter what anyone thinks.

Maybe I’m not so annoyed after all. Maybe having shitty internet service that never works is a blessing in disguise. Maybe I should take my own advice and just unplug more often even when the internet is working. That way I can enjoy nature and my family and the truly important things more often (and by important, I don’t mean facebook status updates).

Or maybe AT&T should get their act together before I go all crazy on them. Maybe they should just fix our service while we’re paying for it and all, instead of trying to get us to pay even MORE for a different lametastic AT&T service, so I don’t have to go to their offices and kick everyone in the taco and go all Chuck Norris on their asses.

This kick is for you, at&t!

Yeah. I think that’s what they should do.

The moral of this post?… Stay away from AT&T and unplug more often, even if you do have spectacular internet and cable service. The facebook and reality TV will always be there (or at least for a while until something else comes along).
The children will not.

Do you know what the air smells like right before a storm? Do your kids? I think it’s time to find out.

Feeling all accomplished and shit because I finally wrote a post (and a good one, I think),
~Karin

About kantal113

I am a woman who just wants to share her crazy life with the rest of y’all. I am also a housekeeper, laundrette, babysitter, cook, teacher, caregiver, facilities manager, psychologist, and kisser-of-boo-boos. Better known as a mom.
This entry was posted in inspiration, kids, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dear AT&T: You Suck. Thank You.

  1. Chris says:

    I totally agree, which is a good thing since we’re permanent roommates. I want our kids to learn to appreciate the subtleties around them: the smell of rain, the color of the sky during a storm… That’s the good stuff. Don’t get me wrong, my adult ADD brain loves it some SpongeBob. But, alas, SpongeBob is fleeting. Being aware of and appreciating Mother Nature is much more gratifying.

  2. kantal113 says:

    Thanks, baby! Glad you agree. We’re a good team.

  3. if says:

    The boys are lucky to have you getting them outdoors and enjoying the world!

    • kantal113 says:

      Thanks, Mary! It’s always been important to me to respect and appreciate nature. That’s one of the things my dad did right when raising me. He taught me how important it is to get outside and explore. 🙂

  4. Kara says:

    I don’t watch TV either. I told this to Chris’ grandparents a few weeks ago and you wouldn’t believe the look his grandmother gave me. “well, what do you do, you know, in your free time when you’re not in school?” Oh, I don’t know. I mean, there isn’t anything to do other than watch TV, right? *sigh*

    Anyway, you should get a different internet provider, because AT&T gives rather large contributions to the Tea Party.

    • kantal113 says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Kara. 🙂 We’re locked into a contract until August sometime, then we’re going to find something better. I didn’t know that AT&T contributed to the tea party. Eeeew. All the more reason to hate them.

  5. I can relate to your issues with AT&T….I’m one of their biggest haters. We had them for a little over a year and had no service at least once every month….no phone, no internet, no cable. Thanks God I wasn’t insane enough to get my cell service through them or we’d have had no way to contact them when their shit went out. Long story short, I cussed them out for almost one entire day that I had to spend on the phone with them. I packed all their crap up into garbage bags (since that’s what it is….garbage) and told them to come pick it up. Then told them I would NOT under ANY circumstance pay my final bill…and they should consider THAT their penalty charge for bad service. We were paying about $180 for a Uverse package. They send me a letter apologizing, waiving my final bill (YES!!) and asking me to reconsider…..ummmm…NO!

    Love this blog! You rock!

    • kantal113 says:

      Oh my goodness. Thank you so much for reading! I love your blog! You rock, too! 🙂
      Yes, at&t sucks. A LOT. They’re pretty much why I hadn’t replied to your comment until now. We rarely have service, and when we do, I am too busy with other things to go online. So, I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I replied to someone the same day that you commented, and then when I went to reply to yours, the internet was out again.
      Thank you again for reading! I am hoping to get more posts out there once we have better internet service. Until then, I guess I’ll just play with my kid or something. LOL

  6. Well, you know I feel about unplugging to see the beauty in the world around us. I love your post and commend you for seeing this HUGE positive in the big annoyance of bad internet service!

    • kantal113 says:

      Thanks, Rachel! It means a LOT to me that you took the time to read my little baby bloggy. Hehe. I hope to find more inspiration and motivation to write more sometime soon. LOTS to write about, just terrible internet and motivation holding me back. Grrr! All 3 of my boys are gone for the next 2 weeks, and it’s so quiet. This is the perfect time to get things done that require me to be plugged in for long periods of time. 🙂 My little one will be home in 2 weeks, and my 2 pseudo-step-sons will be home at the end of August. I plan on making this next school year more “hands free”. Thanks for the inspiration and again for taking th time to read my post. 🙂

  7. JP says:

    At&t does in fact suck. Especially with how they have handled the iPhone 4s backorders. I feel like a sap for buying my phone through them because of course you can’t cancel your order if you order online. They treat their old customers just as badly as they treat their brand new ones.
    However, I think it’s ironic that you deprive your kids from being “plugged in” when you yourself seem to blog quite frequently.(my 2 cents. also depends on your kids’ age… I’m not judging). The At&t reps seem to encourage lazy parenting haha. “Just have your kids watch nick and Disney…that way you don’t have to give them any attention!”

    Also, I don’t think it’s a good idea to let your kids out right before a storm comes. Might be a bit of a safety hazard.

    • kantal113 says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting, JP. I have to say that I’m a bit torn on how to feel about your comment. I don’t blog frequently. I started this blog in mid May and only have 8 posts to date. I’d call that rather infrequent. 8 posts in 7 months is nothing compared to most blogs. I might as well not even have a blog, posting so rarely. Our friend, Deb, posts daily. My husband posts several times a month.
      But- in the interest of full disclosure, I am indeed “plugged in” often. Just not blogging. I read email and other blogs, inspirational sites and of course, facebook. In all fairness, I’ve only had a computer for 2 years. That’s 2 years of my entire life. My family did not own one, and I could never afford to buy one, so I just went without. I grew up unplugged, and am a better person for it. It’s only in the last 2 years that I’ve been plugged in at all. My kids are 5, 6, and 8. They need to learn how much there is to do when you’re not plugged into a TV or video game. I’ve already learned that, so my being plugged in is acceptable, because I can unplug at any time and always find something else to occupy my time with.
      If kids learn at an early age that the best way to be entertained is by watching TV and playing video games, that’s a hard habit to break them of as they grow.

      As for being outside before a storm, I disagree with you 100%. There is nothing dangerous about being out there as the air starts to turn electric and the smell of rain starts drifting in from miles away. The wind starts to pick up, and the sky changes colors. It’s magical, and I couldn’t imagine denying them that. Heck, we often play outside during storms; especially if it’s raining really hard. That’s the best time to dance in the rain. You get soaked in just a few seconds. It’s incredible. Oh, and let’s not forget the rainbows that follow. Priceless.
      Don’t misunderstand me though, if there is lightning or strong winds, we stay inside where it’s safe. I understand those dangers, but a regular spring/summer rainstorm is something I believe all kids should dance in at least once.
      Thank you again for reading. I hope you’ll stick around in hopes of me writing more. Of course, I have to be plugged in to do that. 😉

Leave a Reply

