Donna Day 2014, or The Day I Finally Came Out of Hiding

It has been 10 months since I’ve written a blog post. 10! I wrote about my health issues and cancer scare back in April 2013, then I just kinda walked away from blogging. I can’t believe it’s been that long, but it has. 

Not much would have been able to get me out of my blogging funk. You know what finally made me come out of hiding? This girl right here:

This is Donna.

This is Donna.

About 2.5 years ago, I stumbled upon Mary Tyler Mom’s blog and Donna’s Cancer Story. I read it every day and cried every day along with countless other people around the world. I fell in love with this little girl that I had never met. She was beautiful and wise beyond her years, and her death was a true lesson of how to really LIVE.

Shortly after Donna’s Cancer story was published, the first Donna’s Good Things St.Baldrick’s Foundation  head shaving event was held in Chicago. I was there, along with many other brave men and women, shaving my head to raise money for pediatric cancer research. It was a life-altering event!

More children die of cancer than they do from any other disease- more than many other childhood diseases combined! Worldwide, another child is diagnosed every 3 minutes.
ALL types of childhood cancer combined receive only 4% of the US federal funds for cancer research! That number is unacceptable. We have to do more, and St. Baldrick’s is one way to do that.

And that’s what we’re doing today, on Donna Day 2014. Donna Day has become an annual day where bloggers from all walks of life write about Donna and St. Baldrick’s to get the word out and start raising the big bucks for the Donna’s Good Things event that’s being held this year on March 29th in Chicago! You can find the info here.

baldrickslogoI could go on and on about stats and such, but I won’t do that this year. I wrote posts the last two years, and they were way longer than this post will be, but they all said the same thing. We need help to find better treatments for childhood cancers! We need more than just one new drug to help these kids and their families choose HOPE! But we can’t do that without you and your money. I’m not gonna lie, money is vital to this. Without money, the scientists cannot do their best to find new medicines and hopefully one day a cure for childhood cancers. Please, spread the word and open your hearts and wallets to a good cause.

Oh, and I also have a special announcement to make. I made this decision today as I was writing this post, actually. I am going to be shaving my head again at the Donna’s Good Things event on March 29th! I have my personal fund raising page up and ready to receive your donations! Please help. In any way that you can. Thank you.

donnaday2014

~Karin

About kantal113

I am a woman who just wants to share her crazy life with the rest of y’all. I am also a housekeeper, laundrette, babysitter, cook, teacher, caregiver, facilities manager, psychologist, and kisser-of-boo-boos. Better known as a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Donna Day 2014, or The Day I Finally Came Out of Hiding

  1. Woo-hoo to your shaving again! Sending love and well wishes.

  2. Nice to hear from you again!

  3. You’re awesome (and you’v been missed, by the way). Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

